must make comments


Is bloggin’ cool? by bayripley
18/03/2010, 21:56
Filed under: Uncategorized, web | Tags:

Don’t you have a blog? series, #1

Well, it’s the hot topic in media classes: b l o g g i n ’ .

We all know a lot about social networks, like Facebook or Twitter, we enthusiastically participate with our lovely accounts, we hang out there more than we do with our friends. We make them in, when we enjoy, and out, when they become dull. We learn, hear, see, envy, share, produce gossip, but we don’t actually do much. Let’s face it– or you have already faced it: Uploading pictures or writing twits do not require a lot.

But blogging requires a chunk, at least more time! And a bit of self-confidence. And more competent computer skills. And an urge to write. And, to be an acclaimed or at least a followed one, you should be creative and intriguing.

I admit: writing such a piece at the beginning of a blogging career is kind of talking about fishing when they hand over your first fishing line. You stare at the line which you have seen for thousands of times in others’ hands. You certainly understand the concept: you put the bait, throw it into the water, and pull the fish. But is it really a three-step story of absolute success? You don’t really know it, but you have your impression now, and it will change once you start fishing.

Then, it comes to that point: I am looking at my first blog and thinking “wouldn’t it be nice for the readers to see what a blogger thinks about blogging at the moment he starts doing it”? Dear Readers, this is the first article of a series that I intend to write: You will be reading a blogger’s comments and observations about the digital world he is creating in. And you have just read the first half of the first entry.

I know fishing rules: don’t talk if not necessary, use proper hooks and baits for different fish, don’t count the fish until you finish, etc. I also think that I know blogging rules: don’t talk if not necessary, use proper hooks and baits for different fish, don’t count the fish until you finish, etc. But I am not sure if my expectations and predictions will match the outcome. All I know, blogging is cool, and good for your writing skills.

I also know that bloggers are taken more seriously everyday. Blogs are popular among digital trend followers, who definitely earn and spend more than a shitty newspaper’s reader. Blogs are already values, creating values. Blogs are about economy. Blogs are alternative source of information, they are the new columns. They enable us to become Carrie Bradshaw, without our picture on a bus and a dick sketched towards our mouths. Blogging seems quite risk-free. The only harm it can give is the damage on your urban coolness, of course in a digital tone. No topic restrictions, no deadlines, ability to filter your readers, stats to analyze how your readers reached you, instant comments, wow, this blogging feels cooler than I think.

Simply put, life is what we receive and blogging makes it more reciprocal. Even if you gorge it with your personal or intimate info, usually in an encoded language; you are still after reciprocity. ‘Cause modern life is so noisy and you are so yourself now, looking at your screen, hearing the continuous whisper of your laptop’s fan.

Is bloggin’ cool? Hell yeah. Will I think the same after three months? Well, meet me here on June 18, 2010 for that topic.Oops, I just ended an observation of mine: I said no deadlines as a plus, and I just killed it with my bare hands. Damn!

Anyway, for the rest, keep following.

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

well, well… pretty darn good. I think blogging is more interesting- twitter just says twit to me 🙂 but about fishing, having done quite a bit I can tell you – I never had to count what was in my bucket – already knew 🙂
look forward to your next!

Comment by cheryl

ah, this reminds me the most hillarious scene about being cool from “almost famous”:

Lester: Aw, man. You made friends with them. See, friendship is the booze they feed you. They want you to get drunk on feeling like you belong.
William: Well, it was fun.
Lester: They make you feel cool. And hey. I met you. You are not cool.
William: I know. Even when I thought I was, I knew I wasn’t.
Lester: That’s because we’re uncool. And while women will always be a problem for us, most of the great art in the world is about that very same problem. Good-looking people don’t have any spine. Their art never lasts. They get the girls, but we’re smarter.
William: I can really see that now.
Lester: Yeah, great art is about conflict and pain and guilt and longing and love disguised as sex, and sex disguised as love… and let’s face it, you got a big head start.
William: I’m glad you were home.
Lester: I’m always home. I’m uncool.
William Miller: Me too!
Lester: The only true currency in this bankrupt world is what we share with someone else when we’re uncool.

Comment by votefordeniz

[…] read my first blog entry and I should affirm that my every single expectation has been met. I expressed myself, and people […]

Pingback by Has Bloggin’ been cool? « must make comments

[…] all have blogs ! For more information on why, us bloggers are cool: See past posts of bayripley here and here). They install ridiculously good technologic improvements to their properties: […]

Pingback by The Academic Heat « must make comments




Leave a Reply

